Eat | Drink | Cheap Episode 17 – Gobble Gobble

Shawn commits turkey terrorism by suggesting that *gasp* turkey shouldn’t be roasted whole while Simon tries a more moderate approach. Gather ’round the table folks cause this episode has all the fixings!

Questions, comments or corrections? Hit us up at email@eatdrinkcheap.ca

eatdrinkcheap.ca

eadrinkbreathe.com/podcast

Music by John Palmer

Show notes and Shout Outs:

Turkey Mole: https://www.mexgrocer.com/562-turkey-mole-puebla-style-poblano.html

The First Thanksgiving: https://www.npr.org/sections/krulwich/2010/11/22/131516586/who-brought-the-turkey-the-truth-about-the-first-thanksgiving

How To Break Down a Whole Turkey: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z-sMdmCDXJ4

Butterball Turkeys: https://www.butterball.com/

Fried Turkey Fails: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fs0KLgNzQHA

Edible Vancouver Island: https://ediblevancouverisland.ediblecommunities.com/

The 100 Mile Diet 15 Years Later: https://thetyee.ca/News/2020/06/29/The-100-Mile-Diet-15-Years-Later/

Andor is good good Star Wars.

Read More

Eat | Drink | Cheap Episode 16 – Celery

One of the most maligned vegetables on the dinner table used to be one of it’s brightest stars! Simon and Shawn wind through the stages of grief and discuss all things celery. Hey, it’s not all gloom and doom! 

Questions, comments or corrections? Hit us up at email@eatdrinkcheap.ca

eatdrinkcheap.ca

eadrinkbreathe.com/podcast

Music by John Palmer

Show notes and Shout Outs:

Amazon Classics: https://www.amazon.ca/b?ie=UTF8&node=17278410011

Ethiopian Honey Wine: https://www.atlasobscura.com/foods/tej-ethiopian-honey-wine

Braised Celery and Tomato: https://www.saveur.com/article/Recipes/Sedano-e-Pomodori-Brasati-Braised-Celery-and-Tomato/

Celery Leaf Gremolata: https://tanthillfarm.com/2015/03/22/leaf-celery-gremolata/

Some Things In Life are Inevitable – Leftover Celery Is One of Them: https://www.bonappetit.com/story/leftover-celery-recipes

Formis Sur un Buche: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ants_on_a_log

Dr. Brown’s Cel-Ray Soda: https://www.seriouseats.com/dr-browns-cel-ray-celery-soda-history

Brundo Spice Company: https://www.brundo.com/

The Comet Is Coming: https://www.thecometiscoming.co.uk/

Seriously… Google “Celery Vase” it’s pretty fascinating!

Read More

Eat | Drink | Cheap Episode 13 – Not A Sausage Party

Despite Simon’s best efforts, Shawn parties hard on the subject of homemade fresh sausage! Lots of tube meat talk, gear suggestions, step-by-step instructions for home brat production and the podcast’s first ever guest!

Questions, comments or corrections? Hit us up at email@eatdrinkcheap.ca

eatdrinkcheap.ca

eadrinkbreathe.com/podcast

Music by John Palmer

Show notes and Shout Outs:

Jamie Oliver’s Dandelion Vinegar: https://www.instagram.com/p/CdYlJbNF4KY/?hl=en

Memory Gardens: https://artofmemory.com/blog/method-of-loci/

A Beginner’s Guide To Fresh Sausage Making: https://www.eatdrinkbreathe.com/a-beginners-guide-to-fresh-sausage-making/

Sausage Making Gear: https://www.eatdrinkbreathe.com/2018-holiday-guide-gifts-for-sausage-making-at-home/

Fresh Mexican Chorizo: https://www.eatdrinkbreathe.com/fresh-mexican-chorizo/

Fresh Polish Farmhousre Sausage: https://www.eatdrinkbreathe.com/fresh-polish-farmhouse-sausage-kielbasa-wiejska/

Toad In The Hole: https://www.bbcgoodfood.com/recipes/sams-toad-hole

Choucroute Garnie: https://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/choucroute-garnie-102386

Meditations by Marcus Aurelius: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/30659.Meditations

Sorted Food – Innuendo Bingo: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e3CoDo6AnyM 

Read More

Eat | Drink | Cheap Episode 12 – Carrots

Simon and Shawn dig throug the history of the humble carrot and pull up some surprising myths, also lots of recipes this week and the return of Food Court.    

Questions, comments or corrections? Hit us up at email@eatdrinkcheap.ca

eatdrinkcheap.ca

eadrinkbreathe.com/podcast

Music by John Palmer

Show notes and Shout Outs:

Carrot and Ginger Stir Fry: https://leitesculinaria.com/78645/recipes-ginger-and-carrot-stir-fry.html

Parsnip and Carrot Chips: https://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/parsnip-and-carrot-chips-51145000

Tuscan Carrot Top Soup: https://bostonorganics.grubmarket.com/recipes/celery/tuscan-carrot-top-soup

Beyond The Great Wall by Alford and Duguid: https://www.amazon.ca/Beyond-Great-Duguid-Jeffrey-Alford/dp/1579653014

The End Is Always Near by Dan Carlin: https://www.amazon.ca/Hardcore-History-at-Extremes-ebook/dp/B07H4ZBVPR  

Read More

Eat | Drink | Cheap Episode 11 – Mead, Part 2: The Sobering

The boys sober up and continue their talk on one of mankind’s oldest alcoholic creations. Including step by step instructions on fermenting your own mead, recipes, flavouring ideas and what to avoid when entering into the mead community. Shawn also laments shopping for his wife in the liquor store and shows some love for the original Iron Chef Japan.

Questions, comments or corrections? Hit us up at email@eatdrinkcheap.ca

eatdrinkcheap.ca

eadrinkbreathe.com/podcast

Music by John Palmer

Show notes and Shout Outs:

Make Mead Like a Viking by Jereme Zimmer: https://www.amazon.ca/Make-Mead-Like-Viking-Wild-Fermented/dp/1603585982#:~:text=In%20Make%20Mead%20Like%20a,not%20only%20uncomplicated%20but%20fun.

Middle Mountain Mead: https://middlemountainmead.com/

Wardruna: A Norwegian Folk Metal group that uses traditional instruments: https://www.wardruna.com/

Original Iron Chef Japan on Youtube: Big love to Eevee EVP, Sidney Greenwood and Xacred for keeping my Nostalgia alive!

Read More