Eat | Drink | Cheap Episode 08 – Meal Planning and Other Tips

Now that you’ve brought home your groceries how are you going to make the most of them? Shawn and Simon tear open those grocery bags and organize your world, plus tips and tricks for stretching leftovers and lots of love for Ethiopian cuisine.

Questions, comments or corrections? Hit us up at email@eatdrinkcheap.ca

eatdrinkcheap.ca

eadrinkbreathe.com/podcast

Music by John Palmer

Show notes and Shout Outs:

The Hu: https://www.thehuofficial.com/

In Bibi’s Kitchen: https://www.penguinrandomhouse.ca/books/606399/in-bibis-kitchen-by-hawa-hassan-with-julia-turshen/9781984856739

Morphine: https://www.wbur.org/news/2018/09/14/morphine-boston-band-cure-for-pain

The Comet Is Coming: https://www.thecometiscoming.co.uk/

Sesame Pickled Burdock Root: https://www.eatdrinkbreathe.com/sesame-pickled-burdock-root/

Read More

Eat | Drink | Cheap Episode 07 – Cabbage

Shawn and Simon show some love for the humble cabbage. Plus, what makes a good coleslaw and why something as stupid as edible gold has a place on your plate. 

Questions, comments or corrections? Hit us up at email@eatdrinkcheap.ca

eatdrinkcheap.ca

eadrinkbreathe.com/podcast

Music by John Palmer

Show notes and Shout Outs:

Pattison Farms: http://www.pattisonfarms.ca/

Goldschlager: https://www.sazerac.com/our-brands/sazerac-brands/goldschlager.html

The Abomination That is Bad Coleslaw by Rick Bragg: https://time.com/4060038/bad-slaw-my-southern-journey/

Organ Freeman: https://liveforlivemusic.com/features/getting-to-know-organ-freeman-funky-la-trio-with-the-best-band-name/

Taste Tibet by Julie Kleeman and Yeshi Jampa: https://www.kaveyeats.com/taste-tibet-by-julie-kleeman-and-yeshi-jampa

The Soups of France by Lois Ann Rothert: https://www.amazon.com/Soups-France-Lois-Anne-Rothert/dp/0811833429#:~:text=The%20Soups%20of%20France%20feels,the%20author%2C%20Lois%20Anne%20Rothert.

Read More

Eat | Drink | Cheap Episode 06 – Lost In The Supermarket

Grab a cart and strap in kids! Simon and Shawn take you up and down the aisles of your local Mega-Low-Mart with tips on saving money (make a list!) and four meals for under $20. 

Questions, comments or corrections? Hit us up at email@eatdrinkcheap.ca

eatdrinkcheap.ca

eadrinkbreathe.com/podcast

Music by John Palmer

Show notes and Shout Outs:

BC Farms and Food: https://bcfarmsandfood.com/farms/

Bannock Recipe: https://www.eatdrinkbreathe.com/bannock-first-nations-style/

Afternoons In Stereo: https://www.mixcloud.com/greg-vickers/

ARTGER on Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2KkryWOYOu4&list=RDCMUC_yXGNJDvXRd7041L8Gkw9g&index=1

Read More

 Eat | Drink | Cheap Episode 05 – Nettles

Our heroes go on an adventure for spring’s first forgeable meal: Nettles! learn how to avoid getting stung and how to prepare this robust wild weed for dinner. Also, why is tofuky?

Questions, comments or corrections? Hit us up at email@eatdrinkcheap.ca

eatdrinkcheap.ca

eadrinkbreathe.com/podcast

Music by John Palmer

Show notes and Shout Outs:

Guide To Foraging Stinging Nettles: https://www.eatdrinkbreathe.com/stinging-nettles/

NW Primate on Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCzmTSIV94RNueSzZX20gmPQ

Nettle Pesto: https://www.eatdrinkbreathe.com/nettle-pesto/

Hank Shaw’s Nettle and Fish Soup:  https://honest-food.net/nettle-soup/

Pineapple in Lime Jello: http://www.americantable.org/2013/06/retro-recipe-dole-pineapple-jell-o-in-a-can-1955/ 

The Supersizers Eat on BBC: https://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b00lbttj/episodes/guide 

Feathers by Egle Eyed Tiger: https://eagleeyedtiger.bandcamp.com/album/feathers-2 

Books On Foraging: https://www.eatdrinkbreathe.com/best-westcoast-foraging-guides/

Read More

 Eat | Drink | Cheap Episode 04 – Eggs

Good morning sunshine! Simon and Shawn discuss the humble egg, star of breakfast buffets, pastries and carbonara. 

Questions, comments or corrections? Hit us up at email@eatdrinkcheap.ca

eatdrinkcheap.ca

eadrinkbreathe.com/podcast

Music by John Palmer

Show notes and Shout Outs:

Candance and Jess Judge a Book By It’s Cover @ https://podcasts.apple.com/ca/podcast/candace-and-jess-judge-a-book-by-its-cover/id1435982288

Oyakodon Donburi @ https://www.globalkitchenjapan.com/collections/oyakodon-donburi

All Day Breakfast Cafe @ https://www.instagram.com/alldaybreakfastcafe/?hl=en

Les Stroud’s  Wild Harvest @ https://wildharvestfilms.com/

Read More