Eat | Drink | Cheap Episode 09 – Garlic

An ode to our favourite aromatic! In this episode Simon and Shawn dive deep into the pungent world of garlic with recipes, stories, quotes, tips, afros and tricks for healthy skin, meatball bouncing contests and even some amateur effects work.

Questions, comments or corrections? Hit us up at email@eatdrinkcheap.ca

eatdrinkcheap.ca

eadrinkbreathe.com/podcast

Music by John Palmer

Additional Music by Dee-Yan Kee via the Free Music Archive

Show notes and Shout Outs:

Glorious Gartsin Garlic by Shawn Galway for Edible vancouver Island Magazine: https://ediblevancouverisland.ediblecommunities.com/food-thought/glorious-garstin-garlic

Alexis Soyer’s Shilling Cookery for the People: https://www.amazon.ca/Soyers-Shilling-Cookery-People-Alexis-ebook/dp/B009Y4ZM88

Spruce Tips: https://foragerchef.com/spruce-tips/

Anthony Bourdain’s Kitchen Confidential: https://www.amazon.com/Kitchen-Confidential-Updated-Adventures-Underbelly/dp/0060899220

David Rocco’s Dolce Vita: https://davidrocco.com/portfolio/shows-list-drdv/

Garlic Is As Good As Ten Mothers Documentary by Les Blank NOT Baz Luhrmann (1980): https://vimeo.com/ondemand/garlic

Merville Garlic Festival: http://mervillehall.ca/major-events/garlic-festival/

40 Cloves and a Chicken by Alton Brown: https://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/alton-brown/40-cloves-and-a-chicken-recipe-1910661

Xo Soused Podcast: https://podcasts.apple.com/gb/podcast/xo-soused/id1566932756

The God Of Cookery (1996): https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0116426/

Read More

Eat | Drink | Cheap Episode 08 – Meal Planning and Other Tips

Now that you’ve brought home your groceries how are you going to make the most of them? Shawn and Simon tear open those grocery bags and organize your world, plus tips and tricks for stretching leftovers and lots of love for Ethiopian cuisine.

Questions, comments or corrections? Hit us up at email@eatdrinkcheap.ca

eatdrinkcheap.ca

eadrinkbreathe.com/podcast

Music by John Palmer

Show notes and Shout Outs:

The Hu: https://www.thehuofficial.com/

In Bibi’s Kitchen: https://www.penguinrandomhouse.ca/books/606399/in-bibis-kitchen-by-hawa-hassan-with-julia-turshen/9781984856739

Morphine: https://www.wbur.org/news/2018/09/14/morphine-boston-band-cure-for-pain

The Comet Is Coming: https://www.thecometiscoming.co.uk/

Sesame Pickled Burdock Root: https://www.eatdrinkbreathe.com/sesame-pickled-burdock-root/

Read More

Eat | Drink | Cheap Episode 07 – Cabbage

Shawn and Simon show some love for the humble cabbage. Plus, what makes a good coleslaw and why something as stupid as edible gold has a place on your plate. 

Questions, comments or corrections? Hit us up at email@eatdrinkcheap.ca

eatdrinkcheap.ca

eadrinkbreathe.com/podcast

Music by John Palmer

Show notes and Shout Outs:

Pattison Farms: http://www.pattisonfarms.ca/

Goldschlager: https://www.sazerac.com/our-brands/sazerac-brands/goldschlager.html

The Abomination That is Bad Coleslaw by Rick Bragg: https://time.com/4060038/bad-slaw-my-southern-journey/

Organ Freeman: https://liveforlivemusic.com/features/getting-to-know-organ-freeman-funky-la-trio-with-the-best-band-name/

Taste Tibet by Julie Kleeman and Yeshi Jampa: https://www.kaveyeats.com/taste-tibet-by-julie-kleeman-and-yeshi-jampa

The Soups of France by Lois Ann Rothert: https://www.amazon.com/Soups-France-Lois-Anne-Rothert/dp/0811833429#:~:text=The%20Soups%20of%20France%20feels,the%20author%2C%20Lois%20Anne%20Rothert.

Read More

Eat | Drink | Cheap Episode 06 – Lost In The Supermarket

Grab a cart and strap in kids! Simon and Shawn take you up and down the aisles of your local Mega-Low-Mart with tips on saving money (make a list!) and four meals for under $20. 

Questions, comments or corrections? Hit us up at email@eatdrinkcheap.ca

eatdrinkcheap.ca

eadrinkbreathe.com/podcast

Music by John Palmer

Show notes and Shout Outs:

BC Farms and Food: https://bcfarmsandfood.com/farms/

Bannock Recipe: https://www.eatdrinkbreathe.com/bannock-first-nations-style/

Afternoons In Stereo: https://www.mixcloud.com/greg-vickers/

ARTGER on Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2KkryWOYOu4&list=RDCMUC_yXGNJDvXRd7041L8Gkw9g&index=1

Read More