Eat | Drink | Cheap Episode 14 – How To Cook Like an Amateur

Class is in session! Shawn and Simon go back to explain some of the basics of kitchen technique and share some recipes, plus lots of love for Jamie Oliver, Neil Gaiman and the new Prey movie.

Questions, comments or corrections? Hit us up at email@eatdrinkcheap.ca

eatdrinkcheap.ca

eadrinkbreathe.com/podcast

Music by John Palmer

Show notes and Shout Outs:

Runge’s Deli in Courtenay: https://www.facebook.com/RungesDeli/

Burrfection: https://burrfectionstore.com/

Michael Ruhlman’s book Soul of A Chef: https://www.amazon.ca/Soul-Chef-Journey-Toward-Perfection/dp/0141001895

Jamie Oliver’s book Jamie’s Dinners: https://www.amazon.ca/Jamies-Dinners-Jamie-Oliver-2004-10-07/dp/B000YFEDJU

Neil Gaiman’s Sandman on Netflix: https://www.netflix.com/ca/title/81150303

Prey on Disney Plus: https://www.disneyplus.com/movies/prey/5Y0VIrKjUDWm

Read More

Eat | Drink | Cheap Episode 13 – Not A Sausage Party

Despite Simon’s best efforts, Shawn parties hard on the subject of homemade fresh sausage! Lots of tube meat talk, gear suggestions, step-by-step instructions for home brat production and the podcast’s first ever guest!

Questions, comments or corrections? Hit us up at email@eatdrinkcheap.ca

eatdrinkcheap.ca

eadrinkbreathe.com/podcast

Music by John Palmer

Show notes and Shout Outs:

Jamie Oliver’s Dandelion Vinegar: https://www.instagram.com/p/CdYlJbNF4KY/?hl=en

Memory Gardens: https://artofmemory.com/blog/method-of-loci/

A Beginner’s Guide To Fresh Sausage Making: https://www.eatdrinkbreathe.com/a-beginners-guide-to-fresh-sausage-making/

Sausage Making Gear: https://www.eatdrinkbreathe.com/2018-holiday-guide-gifts-for-sausage-making-at-home/

Fresh Mexican Chorizo: https://www.eatdrinkbreathe.com/fresh-mexican-chorizo/

Fresh Polish Farmhousre Sausage: https://www.eatdrinkbreathe.com/fresh-polish-farmhouse-sausage-kielbasa-wiejska/

Toad In The Hole: https://www.bbcgoodfood.com/recipes/sams-toad-hole

Choucroute Garnie: https://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/choucroute-garnie-102386

Meditations by Marcus Aurelius: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/30659.Meditations

Sorted Food – Innuendo Bingo: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e3CoDo6AnyM 

Read More

Eat | Drink | Cheap Episode 12 – Carrots

Simon and Shawn dig throug the history of the humble carrot and pull up some surprising myths, also lots of recipes this week and the return of Food Court.    

Questions, comments or corrections? Hit us up at email@eatdrinkcheap.ca

eatdrinkcheap.ca

eadrinkbreathe.com/podcast

Music by John Palmer

Show notes and Shout Outs:

Carrot and Ginger Stir Fry: https://leitesculinaria.com/78645/recipes-ginger-and-carrot-stir-fry.html

Parsnip and Carrot Chips: https://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/parsnip-and-carrot-chips-51145000

Tuscan Carrot Top Soup: https://bostonorganics.grubmarket.com/recipes/celery/tuscan-carrot-top-soup

Beyond The Great Wall by Alford and Duguid: https://www.amazon.ca/Beyond-Great-Duguid-Jeffrey-Alford/dp/1579653014

The End Is Always Near by Dan Carlin: https://www.amazon.ca/Hardcore-History-at-Extremes-ebook/dp/B07H4ZBVPR  

Read More

Eat | Drink | Cheap Episode 11 – Mead, Part 2: The Sobering

The boys sober up and continue their talk on one of mankind’s oldest alcoholic creations. Including step by step instructions on fermenting your own mead, recipes, flavouring ideas and what to avoid when entering into the mead community. Shawn also laments shopping for his wife in the liquor store and shows some love for the original Iron Chef Japan.

Questions, comments or corrections? Hit us up at email@eatdrinkcheap.ca

eatdrinkcheap.ca

eadrinkbreathe.com/podcast

Music by John Palmer

Show notes and Shout Outs:

Make Mead Like a Viking by Jereme Zimmer: https://www.amazon.ca/Make-Mead-Like-Viking-Wild-Fermented/dp/1603585982#:~:text=In%20Make%20Mead%20Like%20a,not%20only%20uncomplicated%20but%20fun.

Middle Mountain Mead: https://middlemountainmead.com/

Wardruna: A Norwegian Folk Metal group that uses traditional instruments: https://www.wardruna.com/

Original Iron Chef Japan on Youtube: Big love to Eevee EVP, Sidney Greenwood and Xacred for keeping my Nostalgia alive!

Read More

Eat | Drink | Cheap Episode 10 – Mead, Part 1: The Drunkening

Our heros crack open the good stuff and talk all about Simon’s favourite fermenting project: Making mead at home! Learn how to mix honey, yeast and water to form earth’s oldest booze and laugh as the boys slowly realize they’ve been drunkenly rambling for an hour and they’re not even halfway done. Cheers!

Questions, comments or corrections? Hit us up at email@eatdrinkcheap.ca

eatdrinkcheap.ca

eadrinkbreathe.com/podcast

Music by John Palmer

Show notes and Shout Outs:

Simon’s Small Mead: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XvQwfmjmVvs&t=16s

Simon’s Mead Making Made Simple: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gT54-0Dx0zg

Simon’s Sweetness and Alcohol Content: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KHbfKFeTIRY

Simon’s mead Horn: https://jelldragon.com/asatru-pagan-supplies/glass-drinking-horn-with-iron-stand/

My mead corner https://photos.app.goo.gl/nJC8n9TmCUVXGiHV9

Parallel 49’s “Peach Bod” Sparkling Peach Ale.

Everything Everywhere All At Once!    

Read More