Eat | Drink | Cheap Episode 06 – Lost In The Supermarket

Grab a cart and strap in kids! Simon and Shawn take you up and down the aisles of your local Mega-Low-Mart with tips on saving money (make a list!) and four meals for under $20. 

Questions, comments or corrections? Hit us up at email@eatdrinkcheap.ca

eatdrinkcheap.ca

eadrinkbreathe.com/podcast

Music by John Palmer

Show notes and Shout Outs:

BC Farms and Food: https://bcfarmsandfood.com/farms/

Bannock Recipe: https://www.eatdrinkbreathe.com/bannock-first-nations-style/

Afternoons In Stereo: https://www.mixcloud.com/greg-vickers/

ARTGER on Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2KkryWOYOu4&list=RDCMUC_yXGNJDvXRd7041L8Gkw9g&index=1

Read More

 Eat | Drink | Cheap Episode 05 – Nettles

Our heroes go on an adventure for spring’s first forgeable meal: Nettles! learn how to avoid getting stung and how to prepare this robust wild weed for dinner. Also, why is tofuky?

Questions, comments or corrections? Hit us up at email@eatdrinkcheap.ca

eatdrinkcheap.ca

eadrinkbreathe.com/podcast

Music by John Palmer

Show notes and Shout Outs:

Guide To Foraging Stinging Nettles: https://www.eatdrinkbreathe.com/stinging-nettles/

NW Primate on Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCzmTSIV94RNueSzZX20gmPQ

Nettle Pesto: https://www.eatdrinkbreathe.com/nettle-pesto/

Hank Shaw’s Nettle and Fish Soup:  https://honest-food.net/nettle-soup/

Pineapple in Lime Jello: http://www.americantable.org/2013/06/retro-recipe-dole-pineapple-jell-o-in-a-can-1955/ 

The Supersizers Eat on BBC: https://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b00lbttj/episodes/guide 

Feathers by Egle Eyed Tiger: https://eagleeyedtiger.bandcamp.com/album/feathers-2 

Books On Foraging: https://www.eatdrinkbreathe.com/best-westcoast-foraging-guides/

Read More

 Eat | Drink | Cheap Episode 04 – Eggs

Good morning sunshine! Simon and Shawn discuss the humble egg, star of breakfast buffets, pastries and carbonara. 

Questions, comments or corrections? Hit us up at email@eatdrinkcheap.ca

eatdrinkcheap.ca

eadrinkbreathe.com/podcast

Music by John Palmer

Show notes and Shout Outs:

Candance and Jess Judge a Book By It’s Cover @ https://podcasts.apple.com/ca/podcast/candace-and-jess-judge-a-book-by-its-cover/id1435982288

Oyakodon Donburi @ https://www.globalkitchenjapan.com/collections/oyakodon-donburi

All Day Breakfast Cafe @ https://www.instagram.com/alldaybreakfastcafe/?hl=en

Les Stroud’s  Wild Harvest @ https://wildharvestfilms.com/

Read More

Eat | Drink | Cheap Episode 03 – The Whole Bird

Winner winner, chicken dinner. Simon and Shawn talk the whole bird and what to do with it as well as some notes on the ethical raising of chickens, recipes for a Sunday roast and at last jello wobbles it’s way onto the podcast.

Questions, comments or corrections? Hit us up at email@eatdrinkcheap.ca

eatdrinkcheap.ca

eadrinkbreathe.com/podcast

Music by John Palmer

Show notes and Shout Outs:

Thomas Kelller’s Grilled Chicken Recipe @https://www.foodandwine.com/recipes/whole-grilled-chicken-wilted-arugula

Quick Pickled Pearl Onions @ https://www.foodandwine.com/recipes/quick-pickled-pearl-onions

Alton Brown’s Medival Game Hen Pot Pie @ https://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/alton-brown/medieval-game-hen-pot-pie-recipe-1923611

Turducken @ https://www.tasteofhome.com/article/turducken-a-brief-history-of-the-most-complicated-thanksgiving-recipe/

Jellied Chicken and Peas @  https://vintagerecipecards.com/2021/03/05/jellied-chicken-and-peas/

Dr. Bill Schindler’s Eat Like a Human @ https://eatlikeahuman.com/

Michael Pollen’s In Defence Of Food @ https://michaelpollan.com/books/in-defense-of-food/

Moon Knight Rocks!

Read More

Eat | Drink | Cheap Episode 02 – Bread, But Not Sourdough

Simon lays some serious baking knowledge on his co-host and goes through a step-by-step process of how to create beautiful, delicious and cheap homemade bread at home.

questions, comments or corrections? Hit us up at email@eatdrinkcheap.ca

eatdrinkcheap.ca

eadrinkbreathe.com/podcast

Music by John Palmer

Show Notes and Shout Outs:

Read More