Eat | Drink | Cheap Episode 19 – 2022 Holiday Special

Happy Holidays Everyone!!! Shawn and Simon spend some much needed time off to discuss their favourite Christmas movies, music, cheese boards, drinks and memories.

Questions, comments or corrections? Hit us up at email@eatdrinkcheap.ca

eatdrinkcheap.ca

eadrinkbreathe.com/podcast

Music by John Palmer

Show notes and Shout Outs:

The Muppets Christmas Carol: https://www.disneyplus.com/movies/the-muppet-christmas-carol/6BumPfZlq5OH

Willy Wonka and The Chocolate Factory: https://www.warnerbros.com/movies/willy-wonka-chocolate-factory

Love Actually: https://www.amazon.com/Love-Actually-Bill-Nighy/dp/B001JIES4Q

Pork and Chicken Liver Pate: https://www.eatdrinkbreathe.com/pork-and-chicken-liver-pate/

An Urban Modernist Christmas: https://www.mixcloud.com/greg-vickers/urban-modernists-christmas/

Pentatonix Christmas: https://www.ptxofficial.com/

Charlie Brown Christmas: https://tv.apple.com/us/movie/a-charlie-brown-christmas/umc.cmc.mbxalimrwrtq72wj4h601pyf

Alton Brown’s Aged Eggnog: https://altonbrown.com/recipes/aged-eggnog/

Five Minute Candied Walnuts: https://natashaskitchen.com/5-minute-candied-walnuts/

Mulled Wine

  • 1 Bottle Red wine (Malbec or Merlot) 
  • 100g White Sugar
  • 25 Ish Cardamom Pods
  • 2 Cinnamon Sticks
  • Sprig of Rosemary
  • 1 Fresh Ground Nutmeg
  • A Couple of Cracks of Black Pepper

Grandmother’s Macaroons

  • 2 Egg Whites
  • 100g Sugar

Whip to stiff peaks then gently fold in:

  • 75g Unsweetened coconut

Spoon on to a baking sheet and Bake for 20 minutes at 300 degrees.

Read More

Halloween “Severed Hand” Punch

Halloween Punch 1Two Halloween memories from my formative years:

First – Walking into my elementary school dressed in a full-body black cloak, gloves, and intricately painted skull mask (seriously, it took days. Do you have any idea how many pits and cracks line the surface of a skull?) and a demon-topped walking stick that lit up when I tapped it against the ground. I stalked the halls like a boss, scattering kindergarteners and even freaking out some of the teachers. Won first place at the costume competition and the principal had to ask who I was under all that freakish awesomeness before handing me the award.

Second – Every year my mom made a Halloween treat for my class. Or wait, maybe it was just elementary school, or maybe she skipped a year or two. My memories are all messed up… For sure, she made a couple of Halloweens extra special by either baking a large, domed sponge cake with black icing and licorice sticks shaped like a spider, or serving a severed hand punch to my mostly horrified classmates.

My mom, by the way is awesome. (more…)

Read More