Eat | Drink | Cheap Episode 21 – Onions

A year of podcasting and we’ve finally got around to onions! Possibly the most important and versitile vegetable in our pantry gets some love along with an extended talk about canning and the craziness currently going on in the culinary industry.

Questions, comments or corrections? Hit us up at email@eatdrinkcheap.ca

eatdrinkcheap.ca

eadrinkbreathe.com/podcast

Music by John Palmer

Show notes and Shout Outs:

Track and Food Podcast with Corey Mintz: https://www.midrangevancouver.com/posts/2022/12/27/track-and-food-83-food-journalist-corey-mintz-on-the-prevalence-of-tip-creep-at-starbucks-and-what-this-means-for-hospitality

Bon Appetit article on Noma’s Closing: https://www.bonappetit.com/story/noma-restaurant-closing

Thomas Keller’s Quick Pickled Pearl Onions: https://www.foodandwine.com/recipes/quick-pickled-pearl-onions

My Dark Raven by Andreas Eggenberger: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3m5y-YpZink

Sushi 4004: https://www.discogs.com/release/474265-Various-Sushi-4004-The-Return-Of-Spectacular-Japanese-Clubpop

Read More

Eat | Drink | Cheap Episode 19 – 2022 Holiday Special

Happy Holidays Everyone!!! Shawn and Simon spend some much needed time off to discuss their favourite Christmas movies, music, cheese boards, drinks and memories.

Questions, comments or corrections? Hit us up at email@eatdrinkcheap.ca

eatdrinkcheap.ca

eadrinkbreathe.com/podcast

Music by John Palmer

Show notes and Shout Outs:

The Muppets Christmas Carol: https://www.disneyplus.com/movies/the-muppet-christmas-carol/6BumPfZlq5OH

Willy Wonka and The Chocolate Factory: https://www.warnerbros.com/movies/willy-wonka-chocolate-factory

Love Actually: https://www.amazon.com/Love-Actually-Bill-Nighy/dp/B001JIES4Q

Pork and Chicken Liver Pate: https://www.eatdrinkbreathe.com/pork-and-chicken-liver-pate/

An Urban Modernist Christmas: https://www.mixcloud.com/greg-vickers/urban-modernists-christmas/

Pentatonix Christmas: https://www.ptxofficial.com/

Charlie Brown Christmas: https://tv.apple.com/us/movie/a-charlie-brown-christmas/umc.cmc.mbxalimrwrtq72wj4h601pyf

Alton Brown’s Aged Eggnog: https://altonbrown.com/recipes/aged-eggnog/

Five Minute Candied Walnuts: https://natashaskitchen.com/5-minute-candied-walnuts/

Mulled Wine

  • 1 Bottle Red wine (Malbec or Merlot) 
  • 100g White Sugar
  • 25 Ish Cardamom Pods
  • 2 Cinnamon Sticks
  • Sprig of Rosemary
  • 1 Fresh Ground Nutmeg
  • A Couple of Cracks of Black Pepper

Grandmother’s Macaroons

  • 2 Egg Whites
  • 100g Sugar

Whip to stiff peaks then gently fold in:

  • 75g Unsweetened coconut

Spoon on to a baking sheet and Bake for 20 minutes at 300 degrees.

Read More

Eat | Drink | Cheap Episode 17 – Gobble Gobble

Shawn commits turkey terrorism by suggesting that *gasp* turkey shouldn’t be roasted whole while Simon tries a more moderate approach. Gather ’round the table folks cause this episode has all the fixings!

Questions, comments or corrections? Hit us up at email@eatdrinkcheap.ca

eatdrinkcheap.ca

eadrinkbreathe.com/podcast

Music by John Palmer

Show notes and Shout Outs:

Turkey Mole: https://www.mexgrocer.com/562-turkey-mole-puebla-style-poblano.html

The First Thanksgiving: https://www.npr.org/sections/krulwich/2010/11/22/131516586/who-brought-the-turkey-the-truth-about-the-first-thanksgiving

How To Break Down a Whole Turkey: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z-sMdmCDXJ4

Butterball Turkeys: https://www.butterball.com/

Fried Turkey Fails: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fs0KLgNzQHA

Edible Vancouver Island: https://ediblevancouverisland.ediblecommunities.com/

The 100 Mile Diet 15 Years Later: https://thetyee.ca/News/2020/06/29/The-100-Mile-Diet-15-Years-Later/

Andor is good good Star Wars.

Read More

Eat | Drink | Cheap Episode 16 – Celery

One of the most maligned vegetables on the dinner table used to be one of it’s brightest stars! Simon and Shawn wind through the stages of grief and discuss all things celery. Hey, it’s not all gloom and doom! 

Questions, comments or corrections? Hit us up at email@eatdrinkcheap.ca

eatdrinkcheap.ca

eadrinkbreathe.com/podcast

Music by John Palmer

Show notes and Shout Outs:

Amazon Classics: https://www.amazon.ca/b?ie=UTF8&node=17278410011

Ethiopian Honey Wine: https://www.atlasobscura.com/foods/tej-ethiopian-honey-wine

Braised Celery and Tomato: https://www.saveur.com/article/Recipes/Sedano-e-Pomodori-Brasati-Braised-Celery-and-Tomato/

Celery Leaf Gremolata: https://tanthillfarm.com/2015/03/22/leaf-celery-gremolata/

Some Things In Life are Inevitable – Leftover Celery Is One of Them: https://www.bonappetit.com/story/leftover-celery-recipes

Formis Sur un Buche: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ants_on_a_log

Dr. Brown’s Cel-Ray Soda: https://www.seriouseats.com/dr-browns-cel-ray-celery-soda-history

Brundo Spice Company: https://www.brundo.com/

The Comet Is Coming: https://www.thecometiscoming.co.uk/

Seriously… Google “Celery Vase” it’s pretty fascinating!

Read More

Eat | Drink | Cheap Episode 15 – Gadgets with Nick McWilliam

We took a week off but we are back with a GIANT SIZED episode all about kitchen gadgets with guest host Nick McWilliam! What makes a gadget a gadget? How can they make your life easier and cheaper? Is the Slap Chop a crime against humanity? The answer to these and more!

Questions, comments or corrections? Hit us up at email@eatdrinkcheap.ca

eatdrinkcheap.ca

eadrinkbreathe.com/podcast

Music by John Palmer

Show notes and Shout Outs:

Slap Chop: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rUbWjIKxrrs

Egg Seperator: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=glWR3HPK4jI

Flavour Shaker: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8m_gerXr8DA

Out Of Ireland Importers: https://www.outofireland.ca/

Blackberry Cottage Farms: https://www.blackberrycottagefarm.com/

The Durutti Column: https://www.thedurutticolumn.com/

Read More