Eat | Drink | Cheap Episode 05 – Nettles

Our heroes go on an adventure for spring’s first forgeable meal: Nettles! learn how to avoid getting stung and how to prepare this robust wild weed for dinner. Also, why is tofuky?

Questions, comments or corrections? Hit us up at email@eatdrinkcheap.ca

eatdrinkcheap.ca

eadrinkbreathe.com/podcast

Music by John Palmer

Show notes and Shout Outs:

Guide To Foraging Stinging Nettles: https://www.eatdrinkbreathe.com/stinging-nettles/

NW Primate on Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCzmTSIV94RNueSzZX20gmPQ

Nettle Pesto: https://www.eatdrinkbreathe.com/nettle-pesto/

Hank Shaw’s Nettle and Fish Soup:  https://honest-food.net/nettle-soup/

Pineapple in Lime Jello: http://www.americantable.org/2013/06/retro-recipe-dole-pineapple-jell-o-in-a-can-1955/ 

The Supersizers Eat on BBC: https://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b00lbttj/episodes/guide 

Feathers by Egle Eyed Tiger: https://eagleeyedtiger.bandcamp.com/album/feathers-2 

Books On Foraging: https://www.eatdrinkbreathe.com/best-westcoast-foraging-guides/

Read More

Eat | Drink | Cheap Episode 03 – The Whole Bird

Winner winner, chicken dinner. Simon and Shawn talk the whole bird and what to do with it as well as some notes on the ethical raising of chickens, recipes for a Sunday roast and at last jello wobbles it’s way onto the podcast.

Questions, comments or corrections? Hit us up at email@eatdrinkcheap.ca

eatdrinkcheap.ca

eadrinkbreathe.com/podcast

Music by John Palmer

Show notes and Shout Outs:

Thomas Kelller’s Grilled Chicken Recipe @https://www.foodandwine.com/recipes/whole-grilled-chicken-wilted-arugula

Quick Pickled Pearl Onions @ https://www.foodandwine.com/recipes/quick-pickled-pearl-onions

Alton Brown’s Medival Game Hen Pot Pie @ https://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/alton-brown/medieval-game-hen-pot-pie-recipe-1923611

Turducken @ https://www.tasteofhome.com/article/turducken-a-brief-history-of-the-most-complicated-thanksgiving-recipe/

Jellied Chicken and Peas @  https://vintagerecipecards.com/2021/03/05/jellied-chicken-and-peas/

Dr. Bill Schindler’s Eat Like a Human @ https://eatlikeahuman.com/

Michael Pollen’s In Defence Of Food @ https://michaelpollan.com/books/in-defense-of-food/

Moon Knight Rocks!

Read More

Eat | Drink | Cheap Episode 02 – Bread, But Not Sourdough

Simon lays some serious baking knowledge on his co-host and goes through a step-by-step process of how to create beautiful, delicious and cheap homemade bread at home.

questions, comments or corrections? Hit us up at email@eatdrinkcheap.ca

eatdrinkcheap.ca

eadrinkbreathe.com/podcast

Music by John Palmer

Show Notes and Shout Outs:

Read More

Eat | Drink | Cheap Episode 01 – Stock

Shawn and Simon talk stock, the basis for all cuisine and the simplest, easiest weekend project that will save you money.

eatdrinkcheap.ca

eadrinkbreathe.com/podcast

Music by John Palmer

Show Notes and Shout Outs:

Read More

We Started A Podcast!!!

Simon and Shawn have started a podcast about how to save money in these wild times of rising food costs, aptly named “Eat | Drink | Cheap”. Each episode will take listeners on a journey through an ingredient, technique or whatever our two culinary conversationalists can think of relating to food, drink, thrift and mindfulness in the kitchen.

Check out all the new episodes on Apple Podcasts, Spotify or whatever podcast listening app you prefer, head on over to our podcast site at eatdrinkcheap.ca or eatdrinkbreathe.com\podcast or just click that new tab up there on the top right of our site.

Read More