Eat | Drink | Cheap Episode 13 – Not A Sausage Party

Despite Simon’s best efforts, Shawn parties hard on the subject of homemade fresh sausage! Lots of tube meat talk, gear suggestions, step-by-step instructions for home brat production and the podcast’s first ever guest!

Questions, comments or corrections? Hit us up at email@eatdrinkcheap.ca

eatdrinkcheap.ca

eadrinkbreathe.com/podcast

Music by John Palmer

Show notes and Shout Outs:

Jamie Oliver’s Dandelion Vinegar: https://www.instagram.com/p/CdYlJbNF4KY/?hl=en

Memory Gardens: https://artofmemory.com/blog/method-of-loci/

A Beginner’s Guide To Fresh Sausage Making: https://www.eatdrinkbreathe.com/a-beginners-guide-to-fresh-sausage-making/

Sausage Making Gear: https://www.eatdrinkbreathe.com/2018-holiday-guide-gifts-for-sausage-making-at-home/

Fresh Mexican Chorizo: https://www.eatdrinkbreathe.com/fresh-mexican-chorizo/

Fresh Polish Farmhousre Sausage: https://www.eatdrinkbreathe.com/fresh-polish-farmhouse-sausage-kielbasa-wiejska/

Toad In The Hole: https://www.bbcgoodfood.com/recipes/sams-toad-hole

Choucroute Garnie: https://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/choucroute-garnie-102386

Meditations by Marcus Aurelius: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/30659.Meditations

Sorted Food – Innuendo Bingo: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e3CoDo6AnyM 

Read More

Eat | Drink | Cheap Episode 07 – Cabbage

Shawn and Simon show some love for the humble cabbage. Plus, what makes a good coleslaw and why something as stupid as edible gold has a place on your plate. 

Questions, comments or corrections? Hit us up at email@eatdrinkcheap.ca

eatdrinkcheap.ca

eadrinkbreathe.com/podcast

Music by John Palmer

Show notes and Shout Outs:

Pattison Farms: http://www.pattisonfarms.ca/

Goldschlager: https://www.sazerac.com/our-brands/sazerac-brands/goldschlager.html

The Abomination That is Bad Coleslaw by Rick Bragg: https://time.com/4060038/bad-slaw-my-southern-journey/

Organ Freeman: https://liveforlivemusic.com/features/getting-to-know-organ-freeman-funky-la-trio-with-the-best-band-name/

Taste Tibet by Julie Kleeman and Yeshi Jampa: https://www.kaveyeats.com/taste-tibet-by-julie-kleeman-and-yeshi-jampa

The Soups of France by Lois Ann Rothert: https://www.amazon.com/Soups-France-Lois-Anne-Rothert/dp/0811833429#:~:text=The%20Soups%20of%20France%20feels,the%20author%2C%20Lois%20Anne%20Rothert.

Read More

Canning Cabbage Part 2 – Sauerkraut

A full three quarters of a mightily dense cabbage head remains in the fridge so my Mason jar odyssey continues. First came the Korean kimchee, then the Mexican curtido and now I’m going to finish off this great green beast by hacking it up, salting and fermenting it as a classic Northern European sauerkraut.

Now what we in America refer to with the blanket term of “sauerkraut” actually is part of a great Germanic-Scandanavian tradition of fermenting vegetables to keep during hard times thought to have originated in the Eurasian Steppes and spread by marauding tribes such as the Huns, Tartars and Mongols. Nowadays the name is synonymous with Germany, its culture and culinary traditions. (more…)

Read More

Canning Cabbage Part 1 – Curtido

I found another post-Halloween head in my fridge. Unlike last time this particular head was never part of a large fish, it was pulled from the loamy back yard of my friends ‘n co-workers Cara and Karlee and gifted to me. It is a head of cabbage, and it’s not alone. I still had half a head in there from our last trip to the Willows Market. That’s over ten pounds of cabbage total!

Now I’m more used to cooking with members of the Chinese cabbage family, which are on average much more delicate, sweet and melt away at the hint of heat and salt. I can steam or stir fry pretty much any Choy in big chunks, but not so with these two bowling balls… These Celtic cabbages need to be sliced super fine and require time ‘n technique to get ‘em soft ‘n sweet. (more…)

Read More

Radish Kimchee

radish-kimcheeEveryone I know has been hiding from the snow (we got a foot and a half! Wtf!?) and pre-Christmas congestion in their kitchens, baking cookies into festive shapes and filling the world with the often-neglected scent of nutmeg. I on the other hand, leave the sweet stuff to Crystal and have spent the last couple weeks pickling and preserving whatever herbs and veg the weather didn’t manage to wipe out.

Its slim pickings… If we were legit homesteaders we’d starve this winter *laughs* I’ve got a handful of radishes left from my mid-August sowing in the ‘ol Zen garden, some chard and a couple knobbly carrots. I’m thinking the chard will get eaten right away while the radishes ‘n carrots will live on, packed into mason jars and swimming in Korean chillies.

(more…)

Read More